Google Samsung Galaxy Nexus Unboxing

I bought a Galaxy Nexus on eBay earlier this week. I made an unboxing video of that.

I own a Nexus One and the Galaxy Nexus is definitely an improvement on all aspects compared to the Nexus One. The 720p Super AMOLED display is just awesome for web browsing and view images.

The phone feels good in my hands and with my large sized palms and long fingers I can manage to use it in One hand. The phone sometimes tends to slip out of my hand if I get a bit careless.

Android ICS though very similar to Honeycomb, brings a lot of improvements into the Usability compared to Gingerbread. The hardware keys on are replaced with Software buttons which are very convenient to use.

I found the phone’s browser to be average. However I downloaded Google Chrome Beta which is by far the best browser I have used on any mobile device. The availability of history and browsing data from other devices and computers through the Google Cloud is a big plus.

The 5MP camera is average when it comes to still under average lighting. Night time photos are just abysmal even with flash. Videos in 1080p resolution are pretty good and a 2 minutes video capture produced a 50MB file.

The media player doesn’t seem to recognize many known video formats. I am not really a big fan of watching videos on a mobile device, the 720p display made me try it out. I was definitely impressed with the HD video playback on YouTube, however, I found the YouTube app itself to be quite buggy.

Many in the world have already got the ICS 4.0.4 update. My Galaxy Nexus on the other hand is still stuck with 4.0.2. I need to figure out how to get the update.

Will keep posting more and more as I continue to use the Galaxy Nexus as my daily device.

KTHXBYE!

Leave a Reply

